Join us

October 13, 2013

12 noon - 4:30 p.m.
Bus Departs at 12 noon
from Temple Beth El,
7400 Telegraph Road
Bloomfield Hills

$28 per person
JHSM/TBE members

$36 per person

A Tour of Detroit's
Two Oldest Jewish Cemeteries

Join JHSM and the Rabbi Leo M. Franklin Archives of Temple Beth El as we spend a fall afternoon exploring the beautiful and historic Beth Olem Cemetery and Temple Beth E's Lafayette Cemetery, adjacent to the lovely Elmwood Cemetery. Archivist Jan Durecki and historian Marc Manson will provide the histories and biographies of some of those interred at these cemeteries. In addition, we'll explore by bus some of the areas where the Jewish population resided when these two cemeteries were in active use.

This is a rare opportunity to see Beth Olem Cemetery, located on the grounds of GM's Poletown Plant and open to the public only twice each year. In conjunction with our tour of the Lafayette Cemetery, originally called the Champlain Street Cemetery, we will visit Elmwood Cemetery, designed by Frederick Law Olmstead. This non-denominational cemetery, with its rolling hills and winding stream, was designed as a place of inspiration for the community and is the ?nal resting place of some of Detroit's most historic leaders. The Elmwood Cemetery is also the site of the historic 1763 Bloody Run battle and is the only place where Detroit's original topography remains intact.

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

JHSM 55th Annual Meeting and Presentation of the Leonard N. Simons History Award

Tuesday May 20, 2014 
7:00 p.m.
Congregation Shaarey Zedek
A dessert reception to celebrate the 90th birthday of A. Alfred Taubman will follow.  


Keynote Speaker Judith Levin Cantor, JHSM Past President, Author, 2013 Michigan Women’s Hall of Fame Inductee “Celebrating 55 Years of Sharing Michigan’s Jewish History”


A conversation with Scott Kaufman, CEO, Jewish Federation of Metropolitan Detroit and, A. Alfred Taubman, the 2014 Leonard N. Simons History Award honoree

2014 JHSM Volunteers of the Year Award recipients Harriet F. Siden and Myrle Leland

We will gladly accept your reservation at the door.  Please call our office for more information: 248-432-5517.

Tributes and congratulations to our honorees, A. Alfred Taubman, Judith Levin Cantor and Harriet Siden and Myrle Leland can be made by clicking here.

Tributes and congratulations to JHSM on the occasion of our 55th Anniversary can be made by clicking here



May 20, 2014
7:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Event Category:


Congregation Shaarey Zedek
27375 Bell Rd., Southfield, 48034
+ Google Map


Jewish Historical Society of Michigan